By Design Bundles
Photoshop Tutorials4 min
Turn your photo into a pencil drawing in Photoshop
1- Open Photoshop.
2- Select your photo.
3- Right click on your photo in the layers tab and select duplicate layer.
4- Go to filters > Blue > Smart Blur.
5- Adjust your image to smooth out the defined lines and shapes in your photo.
6- Next we need to adjust the levels. Go to Image > Adjustments > Levels. (Ctrl+L)
7- Adjust the levels to again smooth out your image. 26 - 1.30 - 240 9s a good place to start then adjust accordingly.

8- Next We need to duplicate the layer again. Right click the first duplicate layer and copy it.
9- Go to Filter > filter gallery.
10- Select brush strokes > Accented Edges. Adjust the edge width, edge brightness and smoothness.
11- This will give you the final coloured pencil look.
To create a black and white pencil effect.
12- With your original image duplicate the layer.
13- Select the adjustment button and then select the hue/saturation option.
14- Adjust the saturation to the lowest possible option. This will make your photo black and white.
15- Next, select the blend mode option and then select color dodge.
16- With your duplicate layer selected use Ctrl + I to invert your image.
17- your image will go white, this is fine. Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur.
18- A new window will appear. Adjust the radius. This will start to create your penciled effect.
19- Select the Adjustment icon again, this time select Levels.
20- Adjust the levels to create contrast.
21- Your pencil effect is now finished.
2- Select your photo.
3- Right click on your photo in the layers tab and select duplicate layer.
4- Go to filters > Blue > Smart Blur.
5- Adjust your image to smooth out the defined lines and shapes in your photo.
6- Next we need to adjust the levels. Go to Image > Adjustments > Levels. (Ctrl+L)
7- Adjust the levels to again smooth out your image. 26 - 1.30 - 240 9s a good place to start then adjust accordingly.
8- Next We need to duplicate the layer again. Right click the first duplicate layer and copy it.
9- Go to Filter > filter gallery.
10- Select brush strokes > Accented Edges. Adjust the edge width, edge brightness and smoothness.
11- This will give you the final coloured pencil look.
To create a black and white pencil effect.
12- With your original image duplicate the layer.
13- Select the adjustment button and then select the hue/saturation option.
14- Adjust the saturation to the lowest possible option. This will make your photo black and white.
15- Next, select the blend mode option and then select color dodge.
16- With your duplicate layer selected use Ctrl + I to invert your image.
17- your image will go white, this is fine. Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur.
18- A new window will appear. Adjust the radius. This will start to create your penciled effect.
19- Select the Adjustment icon again, this time select Levels.
20- Adjust the levels to create contrast.
21- Your pencil effect is now finished.
Related Tutorials
Photoshop Tutorials
Pencil Sketch Effect in Photoshop
Discover how to transform a photo into a Pencil Sketch in Photoshop.
Photoshop Tutorials
Add image into text in Photoshop
Affinity Tutorials
How to Turn Day to Night in Affinity Photo
In this tutorial learn how to turn a day picture into night with a magical moon in Affinity Photo.
Photoshop Tutorials
Easy Matte Black Photo Effect in Photoshop
Photoshop Tutorials
How to Add Lightning to a Photo in Photoshop
Photoshop Tutorials



